You are here:

Where do returns come from?

Factors explain stock returns The traditional passive investor invests statistically in a single source of return: the market. However, a number of return sources, so-called factors, exist. For example, the Nobel Prize winner Eugene Fama has shown in one of his most important papers that the shares of small companies (size factor) or low priced stocks (value factor) systematically beat the market and thereby help to better explain return differences between stocks with different characteristics. However, in the traditional passive approach these sources of return are not considered – the investor profits only unconsciously and unsystematically of a fraction of the available drivers of stock returns.

Factors exhibit a positive premium In the past 30 years, academic research has identified additional factors that can achieve significant excess returns over the long-term. While some of these sources of return could be explained by risk exposures (so-called risk premia), they are often rooted in irrational behavior of investors (so-called anomalies). Nowadays, the generally accepted sources of return, besides the classical market-factor (1), include the factors size (2), value (3), momentum (4), residual momentum (5), reversal (6), low risk (7) and quality (8).

 

Sources of return
Sources of return

The sources of return reach their full potential only in combination

Cyclical fluctuations Each of these sources of return drives the portfolio return in the long-term. However, the factor premia varies over time, and might have long-lasting and distinct phases of underperformance. Investing in a single factor premia thus requires a very long-term investment horizon and is therefore not a suitable option for most investors.   

High diversification potential Thanks to the low mutual correlations among the single factor premia this problem can largely be resolved: Through a combination of the different sources of return, the underperformance periods of the single factors can be avoided. By diversifying across all factor premia the outperformance becomes robust and thus better investable.

 

Combination of additional sources of return in the global equity market (accumulated excess return compared to the S&P 1200, illustrative)
Combination of additional sources of return in the global equity market (accumulated excess return compared to the S&P 1200, illustrative)

The solution: Multi Premia

Optimal combination of factor premia Multi Premia® combines all major sources of stock market returns in a systematic approach to achieve a robust solution. In addition to the stock market premium, seven factor premia can be systematically harvested. Thus the Multi Premia® solution extends the traditional, passive investment approach in an ideal manner.

Intelligent substitute for a core investment The optimal diversification within the Multi Premia® solution ensures a robust outperformance and a low tracking error. The solution is implemented long-only with physical equity investments. The passive investor receives a smart substitute for a core investment.

 

Embedding of the Multi Premia in the stratetigc allocation
Embedding of the Multi Premia in the stratetigc allocation

The Multi Premia® product range

The Multi Premia® approach is available in a market capitalization weighted version (classic) characterized by a low tracking error and an optimized return potential, in an alternatively weighted version (extra) which exhibits a medium tracking error and maximizes return potential, and as a minimum variance weighted version with a reduced risk (defensive).

Equities Switzerland (in cooperation with the Swiss stock exchange SIX)

SPI Multi Premia®
Investment universe contains 60 of the largest Swiss stocks

SPI Single Premia: 7 factor indices
Investment universe contains 30 of the largest Swiss stocks

Equities World

World Equity Multi Premia®
Investment universe contains 1200 of the largest stocks worldwide

World Equity Multi Premia® Defensive
Investment universe contains 1000 of the largest stocks worldwide

 

Equities Euro zone (in cooperation with STOXX)

EURO STOXX® Multi Premia®
Investment universe contains 300 of the largest European stocks
 

Equities Europe

European Equity Multi Premia®
Investment universe contains 350 of the largest European stocks

 

Equities US

US Equity Multi Premia®
Investment universe contains 500 of the largest US stocks

Further information

Discover Multi Premia®  Investment opportunities in our Fund overview

 

 

 

Smart Beta Solutions: Overview

Vous êtes ici:

D’où vient le rendement?

Différents facteurs expliquent les rendements sur actions L’investisseur passif classique investit de manière statique dans une seule source de rendement: le marché. Il existe cependant une multitude de sources alternatives de rendement, dits facteurs. Le lauréat du Prix Nobel Eugene Fama a ainsi notamment montré dans un de ses travaux les plus importants que les actions de petites entreprises (facteur Size) ou les actions sous-évaluées (facteur Value) surpassent le marché de manière systématique. Ces facteurs contribuent donc à mieux expliquer les différences de rendement entre les actions ayant des caractéristiques différentes. Ces sources de rendement ne sont pas prises en compte dans l’approche de placement passive classique – l’investisseur investit inconsciemment et de manière non systématique dans une infime fraction des moteurs de rendements sur actions disponibles.

Les facteurs génèrent une prime positive La recherche académique a identifié au cours des 30 dernières années d’autres facteurs qui peuvent produire une surperformance élevée, et ce à long terme. Certaines de ces sources de rendement peuvent être expliquées par des risques encourus (primes de risque) et d’autres sont souvent justifiées par des comportements irrationnels des investisseurs (anomalies). Les sources de rendement désormais généralement reconnues sont: le facteur Marché classique (1) mais aussi les facteurs Size (2), Value (3), Momentum (4), Residual Momentum (5), Reversal (6), Low Risk (7) et Quality (8).

 

Sources de rendement
Sources de rendement

Les sources de rendement ne développent leur potentiel maximum que lorsqu’elles sont associées

Variations cycliques Chacune de ces sources de rendement assure le rendement du portefeuille à long terme. Cependant, les primes de facteur varient fortement dans le temps et peuvent vivre des phases marquées et longues de sous-performance. Investir individuellement dans différentes primes de facteur requiert donc un horizon de placement à long terme et n'est de ce fait pas une option valable pour la plupart des investisseurs.

Un potentiel de diversification élevé  Cette problématique peut être évitée grâce à de faibles corrélations entre les primes de facteur: de longues phases de sous-performance des facteurs individuels peuvent être évitées en associant plusieurs sources de rendement. La diversification sur tous les facteurs disponibles rend ainsi la surperformance solide et permet d'investir dans les différents facteurs.

Combinaison des sources de rendement supplémentaires dans le marché global des actifs (surperformances cumulées par rapport à S&P Global 1200, illustratif)
Combinaison des sources de rendement existantes (facteurs) sur le marché mondial des actions (surperformance cumulée par rapport à S&P Global 1200, illustratif)

La solution: Multi Premia®

Une combinaison optimale des primes de facteur Multi Premia® combine de manière systématique toutes les sources de rendement importantes du marché boursier pour obtenir une solution de placement globale solide. En plus de la prime de marché, les sept primes sur facteur supplémentaires peuvent être exploitées systématiquement. La solution Multi Premia® élargit ainsi le champ d'action d’investissement passive classique de façon idéale.

Substitut idéal aux placements de base La diversification optimale du produit Multi Premia® assure une surperformance solide ainsi qu'un "tracking error" faible. La mise en œuvre s’effectue "long-only" par des placements physiques en actions . Un investisseur passif trouve dans le produit Multi Premia® le substitut intelligent à son investissement de base. 

L'intégration de  Multi Premia® dans l'allocation stratégique
L'intégration de Multi Premia® dans l'allocation stratégique

La gamme de produits Multi Premia®

Le concept Multi Premia® est disponible en variante suivant la pondération du marché qui présente un faible tracking error ainsi qu'un potentiel de rendement optimisé (classic), en variante suivant une pondération alternative qui présente un tracking error moyen ainsi qu'un potentiel de rendement maximal (extra), et en variante suivant une pondération Minimum Variance avec un risque réduit (defensive).

Actions Suisse (coopération avec la bourse suisse SIX)

SPI Multi Premia®
L'univers d'investissement contient 60 des principaux titres du marché suisse des actions

SPI Single Premia: 7 indices de facteur individuel
L'univers d'investissement contient 30 des principaux titres du marché suisse des actions

Actions Monde

World Equity Multi Premia®
L'univers d'investissement comprend 1200 des principaux titres du marché mondial des actions

World Equity Multi Premia® Defensive
L'univers d'investissement comprend 1000 des principaux titres du marché mondial des actions

Actions zone euro (coopération avec STOXX)

EURO STOXX® Multi Premia®
L'univers d'investissement comprend 300 des principaux titres du marché européen des actions

Actions Europe

European Equity Multi Premia®
L'univers d'investissement comprend 350 des principaux titres du marché européen des actions

Actions US

European Equity Multi Premia®
L'univers d'investissement comprend 500 des principaux titres du marché américain des actions

 

Informations supplémentaires

Découvrez des opportunités d'investissement de Multi Premia® dans notre Aperçu des fonds

 

 

 

Retour à l'aperçu