You are here:

Interest rate and credit risk are rewarded in the long-term

The current low interest rate environment leads to a scarcity of investment opportunities After 30 years of falling interest rates, yields are near historical lows – investment opportunities are scarce. But as alternatives are limited, bond quotas
remain high with most investors.

Risk premia for interest rate and credit risk Academic studies reveal a systematic risk premia for interest rate and credit risk, as both risks are rewarded in the long-term. A forgoing of these risks means repeatingly lower returns for investors (carry & roll-down
effect for duration and credit risk) due to forgone risk premia.

Over the last 30 years an investment in long-term corporate bonds yielded 4.28% p.a. (250% cumulative) higher returns than an investment in short-term treasuries.

Risk premia in the bond market
Risk premia in the bond market

Only problem: Higher drawdowns

Drawdowns in interest rate markets Historically, periods of rapid rise in interest rates have been rare. Over the last thirty years only three such occurences lead to negative annual returns. Nonetheless, in the current low yield environment bonds are vulnerable to an increase in yields and therefore enlarged drawdowns.

Drawdowns in credit markets Crises in credit markets have increased in frequency and significance in recent years. Especially in times of a systemic crisis (Financial crisis 2008, European crisis 2011) corporate bonds are subject to substantial price corrections and rising credit spreads.

Drawdowns due to rising interest rates and credit spreads
Drawdowns due to rising interest rates and credit spreads

Fixed Income Risk Indicator (FIRI):
The systematic risk engine for fixed income

How can regimes of high interest rate and credit risk be identified? The Fixed Income Risk Indicator (FIRI), which has been exclusively developed by Finreon AG, is a combination of two risk engines and allows to identify interest rate and credit risk regimes in the bond market.

Interest Rate Indicator (IRI)
The «Interest Rate Indicator (IRI)» is based on a multitude of daily measures. The result – the current interest rate regime – is shown as a risk signal: Red for rising rates, yellow for stable rates and green for falling rates.

Interest Rate Indicator (IRI)
Interest Rate Indicator (IRI)

Credit Risk Indicator (CRI)
The «Credit Risk Indicator (CRI)» is based on a multitude of daily measures as well. The result – the current credit risk regime – is shown as a risk signal: Red for high credit risk, yellow for normal credit risk and green for low credit risk.

Credit Risk Indicator (CRI)
Credit Risk Indicator (CRI)

Implementation: Systematic duration and credit management with Finreon Fixed Income Risk Control®

Finreon Fixed Income Risk Control® solutions manage duration and credit exposure dynamically and systematically through the Fixed Income Risk Indicator (FIRI). This way investors can profit from risk premia on interest rate and credit risk, while at the same time controlling for drawdowns. Thereby, Finreon Fixed Income Risk Control® is ideally suited to optimise the risk/return profile of fixed income securities and circumvent the scarcity of investment opportunities in the current low yield environment. With a systematic risk control, bonds become «investable» again.

Systematic implementation of FIRI within the Finreon Fixed Income Risk Control® solution
Systematic implementation of FIRI within the Finreon Fixed Income Risk Control® solution

Discover Fixed Income Risk Control®  Investment opportunities in our Fund overview

 

 

 
Risk Control Solutions: Overview

Vous êtes ici:

Les risques de taux d'intérêt et de crédit sont indemnisés à long terme

Etat d'urgence en raison des faibles taux d'intérêt Après 30 ans de baisse des taux d’intérêt, ces mêmes se trouvent à des niveaux historiquement bas – les investisseurs ne savent plus vers quel placement se tourner. Par manque d’alternatives, la quote-part d'obligations dans le portefeuille des investisseurs reste élevée.

Primes de risque pour les taux d'intérêt et le crédit Des études scientifiques ont démontré que les risques de taux d’intérêt et de crédit sont indemnisés par la prime de risque systématique à long terme. La renonciation aux risques coûte du rendement aux investisseurs en continu (effets Carry & Roll-Down pour les risques de taux d’intérêt et de crédit) sous la forme de primes de risque manquées.

Les investissements en obligations d’entreprise à long terme ont permis aux investisseurs d’obtenir un rendement supérieur de 4.28% p.a. (250% cumulé) à celui des investissements en obligations gouvernementales à court terme.

Prime de risque dans le marché des obligations
Prime de risque dans le marché des obligations

Seule problème : les pertes de substance

Pertes de substance des taux d'intérêt Du point de vue historique, des hausses de taux d’intérêt prononcées ont été très rares et n'ont mené à des rendements annuels négatifs uniquement dans trois cas au cours des trente dernières années. Cependant, une forte hausse du niveau des taux d’intérêt dans le contexte actuel de taux d’intérêt bas
peut mener à des pertes de substance. 

Pertes de substance des crédits Des crises dans les marchés de crédit ont gagné en importance et sont devenues plus fréquentes. Et, spécialement durant ces périodes périodes de crises systématiques (crise financière 2008, crise européenne 2011), les obligations d’entreprises montrent d’importantes décotes.

Pertes de substance lors d'une augmentation des taux d'intérêt et de Credit Spreads
Pertes de substance lors d'une augmentation des taux d'intérêt et de Credit Spreads

Fixed Income Risk Indicator (FIRI):
Le Risk Engine systématique pour le Fixed Income

Comment peut-on reconnaitre des périodes à risques élevés à partir des marchés de taux d'intérêt et de crédit? Le Fixed Income Risk Indicator (FIRI), qui a été développé exclusivement par Finreon SA, est constitué de deux Risk Engines et permet d’identifier les risques de taux d’intérêt et de crédit.

Interest Rate Indicator (IRI) Le «Interest Rate Indicator (IRI)» est basé sur un grand nombre de mesures analysées quotidiennement. Le résultat – le régime de taux d’intérêt – est affiché sous la forme d’un feux de signalisation : rouge pour des taux d'intérêt en hausse, jaune pour des taux d'intérêt stables et vert pour des taux d’intérêt en baisse.

Interest Rate Indicator (IRI)
Interest Rate Indicator (IRI)

Credit Risk Indicator (CRI) Le «Credit Risk Indicator (CRI)» est également basé sur un grand nombre de mesures analysées quotidiennement. Le résultat – le risque du marché de crédit – est également affiché sous la forme d'un feux de signalisation: rouge pour risque du marché de crédit haut, jaune pour risque du marché de crédit normal et vert pour risque du marché de crédit bas.

Credit Risk Indicator (CRI)
Credit Risk Indicator (CRI)

Mise en œuvre : gestion du risque systématique de taux d'intérêt et de crédit avec Finreon Fixed Income Risk Control®

Finreon Fixed Income Risk Control® gère les risques de taux d’intérêt et de crédit à partir du Fixed Income Risk Indicator (FIRI) de manière dynamique et systématique. Les investisseurs peuvent ainsi bénéficier de la prime de risque de taux d’intérêt et de crédit, en contrôlant simultanément le risque d’importantes pertes de substance. Ainsi, Finreon Fixed Income Risk Control® est idéal pour optimiser le rapport rendement/risque et pour éviter la pénurie de placement. 

Mise en œuvre systématique du FIRI avec la solution Finreon Fixed Income Risk Control® (FRC)
Mise en œuvre systématique du FIRI avec la solution Finreon Fixed Income Risk Control® (FRC)

Découvrez des opportunités d'investissement de Fixed Income Risk Control® dans notre Aperçu des fonds

 

 

 
Retour à l'aperçu