You are here:

Where do returns come from?

Factors explain stock returns The traditional passive investor invests statistically in a single source of return: the market. However, a number of return sources, so-called factors, exist. For example, the Nobel Prize winner Eugene Fama has shown in one of his most important papers that the shares of small companies (size factor) or low priced stocks (value factor) systematically beat the market and thereby help to better explain return differences between stocks with different characteristics. However, in the traditional passive approach these sources of return are not considered – the investor profits only unconsciously and unsystematically of a fraction of the available drivers of stock returns.

Factors exhibit a positive premium In the past 30 years, academic research has identified additional factors that can achieve significant excess returns over the long-term. While some of these sources of return could be explained by risk exposures (so-called risk premia), they are often rooted in irrational behavior of investors (so-called anomalies). Nowadays, the generally accepted sources of return, besides the classical market-factor (1), include the factors size (2), value (3), momentum (4), residual momentum (5), reversal (6), low risk (7) and quality (8).

 

Sources of return
Sources of return

The sources of return reach their full potential only in combination

Cyclical fluctuations Each of these sources of return drives the portfolio return in the long-term. However, the factor premia varies over time, and might have long-lasting and distinct phases of underperformance. Investing in a single factor premia thus requires a very long-term investment horizon and is therefore not a suitable option for most investors.   

High diversification potential Thanks to the low mutual correlations among the single factor premia this problem can largely be resolved: Through a combination of the different sources of return, the underperformance periods of the single factors can be avoided. By diversifying across all factor premia the outperformance becomes robust and thus better investable.

 

Combination of additional sources of return in the global equity market (accumulated excess return compared to the S&P 1200, illustrative)
Combination of additional sources of return in the global equity market (accumulated excess return compared to the S&P 1200, illustrative)

The solution: Multi Premia

Optimal combination of factor premia Multi Premia® combines all major sources of stock market returns in a systematic approach to achieve a robust solution. In addition to the stock market premium, seven factor premia can be systematically harvested. Thus the Multi Premia® solution extends the traditional, passive investment approach in an ideal manner.

Intelligent substitute for a core investment The optimal diversification within the Multi Premia® solution ensures a robust outperformance and a low tracking error. The solution is implemented long-only with physical equity investments. The passive investor receives a smart substitute for a core investment.

 

Embedding of the Multi Premia in the stratetigc allocation
Embedding of the Multi Premia in the stratetigc allocation

The Multi Premia® product range

The Multi Premia® approach is available in a market capitalization weighted version (classic) characterized by a low tracking error and an optimized return potential, in an alternatively weighted version (extra) which exhibits a medium tracking error and maximizes return potential, and as a minimum variance weighted version with a reduced risk (defensive).

Equities Switzerland (in cooperation with the Swiss stock exchange SIX)

SPI Multi Premia®
Investment universe contains 60 of the largest Swiss stocks

SPI Single Premia: 7 factor indices
Investment universe contains 30 of the largest Swiss stocks

Equities World

World Equity Multi Premia®
Investment universe contains 1200 of the largest stocks worldwide

World Equity Multi Premia® Defensive
Investment universe contains 1000 of the largest stocks worldwide

 

Equities Euro zone (in cooperation with STOXX)

EURO STOXX® Multi Premia®
Investment universe contains 300 of the largest European stocks
 

Equities Europe

European Equity Multi Premia®
Investment universe contains 350 of the largest European stocks

 

Equities US

US Equity Multi Premia®
Investment universe contains 500 of the largest US stocks

Further information

Discover Multi Premia®  Investment opportunities in our Fund overview

 

 

 

Smart Beta Solutions: Overview

Sie befinden sich hier:

Woher kommt die Rendite?

Faktoren erklären Aktienrenditen Der klassische passive Anleger investiert statisch in eine einzige Renditequelle: den Markt. Jedoch existiert eine Vielzahl weiterer Renditequellen, sogenannte Faktoren. So hat beispielsweise der Nobelpreisträger Eugene Fama in einer seiner wichtigsten Arbeiten gezeigt, dass die Aktien von kleinen Unternehmen (Size-Faktor) oder günstig bewertete Aktien (Value-Faktor) den Markt systematisch schlagen und dadurch helfen, Renditeunterschiede zwischen Aktien mit unterschiedlichen Charakteristika besser zu erklären. Im klassischen passiven Ansatz finden diese Renditequellen jedoch kaum Berücksichtigung – der Anleger investiert unbewusst und unsystematisch in nur einen Bruchteil der verfügbaren Treiber von Aktienrenditen.

Faktoren weisen eine positive Prämie auf Die akademische Forschung hat in den letzten 30 Jahren weitere Faktoren identifiziert, die langfristig eine deutliche Überrendite erzielen können. Während sich einige dieser Renditequellen auch durch eingegangene Risiken erklären lassen (sog. Risikoprämien), sind sie vielfach in irrationalem Verhalten von Investoren begründet (sog. Anomalien). Zu den inzwischen allgemein anerkannten Renditequellen zählen neben dem klassischen Markt-Faktor (1) die Faktoren Size (2), Value (3), Momentum (4), Residual Momentum (5), Reversal (6), Low Risk (7) und Quality (8).

 

Renditequellen
Renditequellen (eigene Darstellung)

Erst gemeinsam entfalten die Renditequellen ihre volle Antriebskraft

Zyklische Schwankungen Jede einzelne dieser Renditequellen treibt langfristig die Portfoliorendite an. Jedoch schwanken die Faktorprämien stark über die Zeit und weisen unter Umständen langanhaltende und ausgeprägte Phasen der Underperformance auf. Ein Investment in einzelne Faktorprämien bedarf somit eines sehr langfristigen Anlagehorizontes und ist daher für die meisten Investoren keine valable Option. 

Hohes Diversifikationspotential Dank der geringen Korrelationen der Faktorprämien untereinander lässt sich diese Problematik weitgehend beheben: Durch eine Kombination der einzelnen Renditequellen können lange Underperformance-Phasen der einzelnen Faktoren vermieden werden. Mit Hilfe der Diversifikation über alle Faktorprämien hinweg wird die Outperformance robust und die Faktoren somit deutlich besser investierbar.

 

Kombination der zusätzlichen Renditequellen im globalen Aktienmarkt (kumulierte Überrendite gegenüber S&P Global 1200, illustrativ)
Kombination der zusätzlichen Renditequellen im globalen Aktienmarkt (kumulierte Überrendite gegenüber S&P Global 1200, illustrativ)

Die Lösung: Multi Premia®

Optimale Kombination von Faktorprämien Multi Premia® kombiniert in einem systematischen Ansatz alle wichtigen Renditequellen des Aktienmarktes zu einer robusten Gesamtlösung. Neben der Aktienprämie können so auch die sieben zusätzlichen Faktorprämien systematisch erwirtschaftet werden. Die Multi Premia® Lösung erweitert somit den klassischen passiven Investitionsansatz in idealer Art und Weise.

Intelligenter Ersatz für eine Kernanlage Die optimale Diversifikation innerhalb der Multi Premia® Lösung stellt eine robuste Outperformance und einen tiefen Tracking Error sicher. Die Umsetzung findet dabei long-only über physische Aktienanlagen statt. Der passive Investor erhält so einen intelligenten Ersatz für eine Kernanlage.

 

Einbettung von Multi Premia® in die strategische Allokation (illustrativ)
Einbettung von Finreon Equity Multi Premia® in die strategische Allokation (illustrativ)

Die Multi Premia® Anlagelösungen

Der Multi Premia® Ansatz ist in einer marktgewichteten Variante mit tiefem Tracking Error und optimiertem Renditepotential (classic), als alternativ gewichtete Variante mit mittlerem Tracking Error und maximalem Renditepotential (extra) und als Minimum Varianz gewichtete Variante mit reduziertem Risiko (defensive) erhältlich.

 

Aktien Schweiz (Zusammenarbeit mit der Schweizer Börse SIX)

SPI Multi Premia®
Universum umfasst 60 der grössten Titel des Schweizer Aktienmarktes

SPI Single Premia: 7 Einzelfaktorindizes
Universum umfasst 30 der grössten Titel des Schweizer Aktienmarktes

Aktien Welt

World Equity Multi Premia®
Universum umfasst 1200 der grössten Titel des globalen Aktienmarktes

World Equity Multi Premia® Defensive
Universum umfasst 1000 der grössten Titel des globalen Aktienmarktes 

Aktien Eurozone (Zusammenarbeit mit STOXX)

EURO STOXX® Multi Premia®
Universum umfasst 300 der grössten Titel des europäischen Aktienmarktes
 

Aktien Europa

European Equity Multi Premia®
Universum umfasst 350 der grössten Titel des europäischen Aktienmarktes

Aktien US

US Equity Multi Premia®
Universum umfasst 500 der grössten Titel des amerikanischen Aktienmarktes

 

Weitere Informationen

Entdecken Sie Multi Premia® Investitionsmöglichkeiten in unserer Fundübersicht

 

 

Zurück zur Übersicht