You are here:

Interest rate and credit risk are rewarded in the long-term

The current low interest rate environment leads to a scarcity of investment opportunities After 30 years of falling interest rates, yields are near historical lows – investment opportunities are scarce. But as alternatives are limited, bond quotas
remain high with most investors.

Risk premia for interest rate and credit risk Academic studies reveal a systematic risk premia for interest rate and credit risk, as both risks are rewarded in the long-term. A forgoing of these risks means repeatingly lower returns for investors (carry & roll-down
effect for duration and credit risk) due to forgone risk premia.

Over the last 30 years an investment in long-term corporate bonds yielded 4.28% p.a. (250% cumulative) higher returns than an investment in short-term treasuries.

Risk premia in the bond market
Risk premia in the bond market

Only problem: Higher drawdowns

Drawdowns in interest rate markets Historically, periods of rapid rise in interest rates have been rare. Over the last thirty years only three such occurences lead to negative annual returns. Nonetheless, in the current low yield environment bonds are vulnerable to an increase in yields and therefore enlarged drawdowns.

Drawdowns in credit markets Crises in credit markets have increased in frequency and significance in recent years. Especially in times of a systemic crisis (Financial crisis 2008, European crisis 2011) corporate bonds are subject to substantial price corrections and rising credit spreads.

Drawdowns due to rising interest rates and credit spreads
Drawdowns due to rising interest rates and credit spreads

Fixed Income Risk Indicator (FIRI):
The systematic risk engine for fixed income

How can regimes of high interest rate and credit risk be identified? The Fixed Income Risk Indicator (FIRI), which has been exclusively developed by Finreon AG, is a combination of two risk engines and allows to identify interest rate and credit risk regimes in the bond market.

Interest Rate Indicator (IRI)
The «Interest Rate Indicator (IRI)» is based on a multitude of daily measures. The result – the current interest rate regime – is shown as a risk signal: Red for rising rates, yellow for stable rates and green for falling rates.

Interest Rate Indicator (IRI)
Interest Rate Indicator (IRI)

Credit Risk Indicator (CRI)
The «Credit Risk Indicator (CRI)» is based on a multitude of daily measures as well. The result – the current credit risk regime – is shown as a risk signal: Red for high credit risk, yellow for normal credit risk and green for low credit risk.

Credit Risk Indicator (CRI)
Credit Risk Indicator (CRI)

Implementation: Systematic duration and credit management with Finreon Fixed Income Risk Control®

Finreon Fixed Income Risk Control® solutions manage duration and credit exposure dynamically and systematically through the Fixed Income Risk Indicator (FIRI). This way investors can profit from risk premia on interest rate and credit risk, while at the same time controlling for drawdowns. Thereby, Finreon Fixed Income Risk Control® is ideally suited to optimise the risk/return profile of fixed income securities and circumvent the scarcity of investment opportunities in the current low yield environment. With a systematic risk control, bonds become «investable» again.

Systematic implementation of FIRI within the Finreon Fixed Income Risk Control® solution
Systematic implementation of FIRI within the Finreon Fixed Income Risk Control® solution

Discover Fixed Income Risk Control®  Investment opportunities in our Fund overview

 

 

 
Risk Control Solutions: Overview

Sie befinden sich hier:

Zins- und Kreditrisiken werden langfristig entschädigt

Anlagenotstand aufgrund tiefer Zinsen Nach 30 Jahren fallender Zinsen befinden sich diese auf historischen Tiefstständen – es herrscht Anlagenotstand. Mangels Alternativen ist die Obligationenquote bei den meisten Investoren gleichwohl unverändert hoch.
 
Risikoprämien für Zins- und Kreditrisiken Wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen zeigen, dass Zins- und Kreditrisiken langfristig durch eine systematische Risikoprämie entschädigt werden. Ein Verzicht auf diese Risiken kostet Investoren fortlaufend Rendite (Carry & Roll-Down-Effekte für Zins- und Kreditrisiken) in Form entgangener Risikoprämien.
 
Mit einer Anlage in langlaufende Unternehmensanleihen konnten Investoren in den vergangenen dreissig Jahren eine um 4.28% p.a. (250 % kumuliert) höhere Rendite erzielen, als mit einer Anlage in kurzlaufende Staatsanleihen.
Risikoprämien im Obligationenmarkt
Risikoprämien im Obligationenmarkt

Einziges Problem: Substanzverluste

Substanzverluste bei Zinsen Historisch betrachtet waren ausgeprägte Zinsanstiege äusserst selten und führten in den letzten dreissig Jahren nur in drei Fällen zu negativen Jahresrenditen. Jedoch kann gerade im aktuellen Niedrigzinsumfeld eine starke Zunahme des Zinsniveaus zu Substanzverlusten führen.
 
Substanzverluste bei Credit Krisen an den Kreditmärkten haben an Bedeutung und Häufigkeit zugenommen. Besonders in Zeiten systemischer Krisen (Finanzkrise 2008, Europakrise 2011) weisen Unternehmensanleihen starke Abschläge auf.
 
Substanzverluste bei steigenden Zinsen und Credit Spreads
Substanzverluste bei steigenden Zinsen und Credit Spreads

Finreon Fixed Income Risk Indikator: Die systematische Risk Engine für Fixed Income

Wie kann man Hochrisikophasen an den Zins- und Kreditmärkten erkennen? Der exklusiv von der Finreon AG entwickelte Fixed Income Risk Indikator (FIRI) ist eine Kombination zweier Risk Engines und ermöglicht die Identifikation von Zins- und Kreditrisiken.
 
Interest Rate Indikator (IRI) 
Der «Interest Rate Indikator (IRI)» basiert auf einer Vielzahl an täglichen Messungen. Das Resultat – das aktuelle Zinsregime – wird in einer Ampel angezeigt: Rot für steigende Zinsen, Gelb für stabile Zinsen und Grün für fallende Zinsen.
 
Zinsen und die gemessenen Risikophasen
Zinsen und die gemessenen Risikophasen
Credit Risk Indikator (CRI)
Auch der «Credit Risk Indikator (CRI)» basiert auf einer Vielzahl an täglichen Messungen. Das Resultat – das Risiko am Kreditmarkt – wird ebenfalls in einer Ampel angezeigt: Rot für hohes Risiko, Gelb für normales Risiko und Grün für tiefes Risiko.
 
Credit Spreads und die gemessenen Risikophasen
Credit Spreads und die gemessenen Risikophasen

Umsetzung: Systematisches Zins- und Kreditrisiko Management mit Finreon Fixed Income Risk Control®

Finreon Fixed Income Risk Control® bewirtschaftet die Zins- und Kreditrisiken anhand des Fixed Income Risk Indikators (FIRI) auf dynamische und systematische Weise. Investoren können so von der Risikoprämie auf Zins- und Kreditrisiken profitieren, bei gleichzeitiger Risikokontrolle für grosse Substanzverluste. Damit eignet sich Finreon Fixed Income Risk Control® ideal um das Rendite-/Risikoverhältnis von Obligationen zu optimieren und den Anlagenotstand zu entschärfen.
 
Systematische Umsetzung des FIRI mit der Finreon Fixed Income Risk Control® (FRC) Lösung
Systematische Umsetzung des FIRI mit der Finreon Fixed Income Risk Control® (FRC) Lösung

Entdecken Sie Fixed Income Risk Control® Investitionsmöglichkeiten in unserer Fundübersicht

 
 
 
Zurück zur Übersicht